comscore script

Houston Nutt Named AFCA Region 2 Coach of the Year

Houston Nutt Named AFCA Region 2 Coach of the Year

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt was named as the Region 2 Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) on Monday.

AFCA’s Region 2 includes schools of the Sunbelt Conference and Southeastern Conference. Nutt was one of five regional Division I-A coach of the year winners recognized by the organization.

Nutt has led the Razorbacks to a 10-3 record and a New Year’s Day berth in the Capital One Bowl. Arkansas won the Southeastern Conference’s Western Division outright and vaulted to as high as No. 5 in the nation before a regular season finale loss to LSU.

“It is always an honor to be recognized by fellow coaches,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt. “They have a unique perspective of what it takes to win at this level. Our coaching staff and players have made this a championship season. I appreciate their hard work and effort.”

Monday’s honor marked the fourth such award for Nutt at Arkansas. He also captured Region 2 honors in 1998 in his first year with the Razorbacks. Nutt also was twice named AFCA Division I-AA Region 3 Coach of the Year (1995-96) at Murray State.

Other Division I-A regional coaches honored on Monday include Wake Forest’s Jim Grobe (Region 1), Michigan’s Lloyd Carr (Region 3), Boise State’s Chris Peterson (Region 4) and BYU’s Bronco Mendenhall (Region 5).

Sports Category : Football