comscore script

Kosgei Paces Razorbacks to Fifth-Place Finish at NCAA Championships

Kosgei Paces Razorbacks to Fifth-Place Finish at NCAA Championships

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. Peter Kosgei’s eighth-place finish at the NCAA Cross Country Championship paced the Razorbacks to a tie for fifth-place. Arkansas scored 196 points to tie for fifth with Oregon. It is UA’s 24th top-five finish in 37 NCAA Cross Country appearances.

Today’s race marks the final cross country event for seniors Kosgei, Adam Perkins and Seth Summerside. Kosgei and Perkins both have track eligibility remaining while Summerside has completed his collegiate career.

Kosgei, earning the second cross country All-America honor and the eighth overall of his career, finished in eighth place with a 10K time of 31:04.4. Kosgei was the top SEC finisher and bettered his 2005 finish (12th) by four spots.

Seth Summerside was the second Razorback to cross the finish line in 44th place with a time of 31:48.9. Summerside, running his last race in the Cardinal and White, earned the second All-America accolade of his career and his first on the cross country course. The Joplin, Mo. native bettered his 2005 finish (137) by 93 spots and was the fourth SEC harrier to finish.

Scott MacPherson made his NCAA Cross Country Championship debut and clocked a 31:56.0, good for a 48th-place finish and the first All-America honor of his career. MacPherson was the fifth SEC runner to cross the finish line.

Kenny Cormier was the fourth UA scorer to finish. Cormier, an All-American in 2005, finished 74th with a time of 32:15.0. Rounding out the Arkansas scorers was Shawn Forrest in 117th place. Forrest crossed the line in a time of 32:44.5.

Also competing but finishing outside of the top five were Perkins (192nd, 33:39.3) and Tyler Hill (226th, 34:15.4).

Colorado won the men’s event with a team score of 94. Wisconsin took second place with 142 points and the Iona Gaels rounded out the top three with a bronze finish and 172 points. Stanford was fourth with 195 points. BYU’s Josh Rohatinsky was the individual winner with a 10K time of 30:44.9.

For complete results of the 2006 NCAA Cross Country Championships, visit The Razorbacks will open the indoor season Fri., Jan. 12 with the Arkansas Invitational in Fayetteville.

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)