comscore script

Lewis Shean honored by SEC

Lewis Shean honored by SEC

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – University of Arkansas senior Stacy Lewis earned Southeastern Conference Golfer of the Year honors and freshman Kelli Shean was selected to the all-freshman team the league announced Tuesday. Lewis earned SEC Championship medalist honors shooting a 214 last week at Tennessee National Golf Course. It was the second time in the senior’s career she won the conference meet. The 2007 defending National Champion was won 12 collegiate events including six this season. Named the top-ranked amateur by Golf Digest for the second consecutive year, Lewis led the SEC with a 70.83 stroke average and was a unanimous selection for this honor. In addition to golfer of the year honors, Lewis earned her fourth first-time all-SEC selection and was named SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year. Both the academic honor and the golfer of the year honor are firsts for the Lady Razorbacks. “What more can we say about Stacy,” said Arkansas head coach Shauna Estes-Taylor. “What a great way to cap off Stacy’s senior year. She has worked extremely hard in the classroom and on the golf course and is very deserving of both of these honors. Her work ethic and commitment to her sport and her academics is like nothing I’ve ever seen. She embodies the characteristics of a complete student-athlete and it has been a privilege to watch her develop and grow as a person and as a golfer. Stacy is a very special young woman with a very bright future and we are lucky to have had her as a Razorback.” Lewis maintains a 3.7 grade-point-average in finance and accounting. She has been honored by the SEC as well as the National Golf Coaches Association and College Sports Information Directors of America for her classroom successes. In addition to Lewis, Shean was selected to the SEC All-Freshman team. Although Shean struggled in the first round of the SEC Championship, she rebounded matching her average for the year. The Cape Town, South Africa, native was one of eight freshmen selected. “I’m very proud of Kelli and how far she has come in one year,” said Estes-Taylor. “She is so open to learning and getting better and that shows every time we tee it up in competition. Kelli has the internal drive and is committed to getting better and working hard. I think this award is the beginning of many to come.” Arkansas awaits word of the NCAA Regional selection scheduled for Monday, April 28. For more information regarding Razorback women’s golf or University of Arkansas athletics please visit

2008 SEC Women’s Golf Awards (*–unanimous)

SEC COACH OF THE YEAR Jill Briles-Hinton, Florida


SEC GOLFER OF THE YEAR Stacy Lewis, Arkansas*

SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR Cydney Clanton, Auburn

FIRST-TEAM ALL-SEC Kathleen Ekey, Alabama, Jr. Stacy Lewis, Arkansas, Sr. Cydney Clanton, Auburn, Fr. Whitney Myers, Florida, Sr. Jessica Yadloczky, Florida, Fr. Hannah Yun, Florida, Fr. Dori Carter, Ole Miss, Jr. Benedicte Toumpsin, South Carolina, So.

SECOND-TEAM ALL-SEC Candace Schepperle, Auburn, So. Margaret Shirley, Auburn, Sr. Tiffany Chudy, Florida, Sr Krystle Caithness, Georgia, Fr. Garrett Phillips, Georgia, Sr. Megan McChrystal, LSU, Fr. Marci Turner, Tennessee, Sr. Liebelei Lawrence, Vanderbilt, Sr.

ALL-FRESHMAN TEAM Courtney Harter, Alabama Camilla Lennarth, Alabama Kelli Shean, Arkansas Cydney Clanton, Auburn Jessica Yadloczky, Florida Hannah Yun, Florida Krystle Caithness, Georgia Megan McChrystal, LSU

Sports Category : Golf (W)