comscore script

McFadden and Seven Other Razorbacks Recognized by

McFadden and Seven Other Razorbacks Recognized by

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas tailback Darren McFadden along with seven other Razorbacks were recognized with All-Southeastern Conference honors by on Wednesday. McFadden was named as the SEC Offensive Player of the Year and a first-team All-SEC running back by the national website. He was also named to the first-team All-America team selected by

Joining McFadden on the All-SEC listing at running back is fellow backfield mate Felix Jones. McFadden (1,558) and Jones (1,018) became the third SEC duo and the 38th tandem in NCAA history to rush for 1,000 yards in the same season. McFadden has already won the Doak Walker Award and was runner-up to Ohio State’s Troy Smith for the Heisman Trophy. The unanimous SEC player of the year is a consensus first-team All-American after racking up 2,756 yards in total offense for the Razorbacks.

Jones became only the eighth Razorback in school history to rush for more than 1,000 yards despite logging time behind McFadden. He averaged a team-best 7.3 yards per carry in 2006. He scored eight touchdowns with four rushing, three receiving and one on a kickoff return.

Senior offensive guard Stephen Parker and senior offensive tackle Zac Tubbs also made the first-team All-SEC listing. The two offensive linemen helped clear the way for Arkansas’ SEC-leading rushing attack. The Razorbacks rank fourth in the nation averaging 228.23 yards per game. Arkansas has also yielded the fewest sacks of any team in the nation allowing only eight sacks in 13 games.

Junior defensive end Jamaal Anderson was a unanimous selection to the first-team defense at end. He racked up a remarkable 15.5 tackles for loss (-86) this season including 11.0 sacks (-76). Anderson started 13 games and tallied 60 total tackles. He was an honorable mention All-America selection by He also earned first-team All-SEC honors from several outlets.

Linebacker Sam Olajubutu led the Razorbacks with 112 tackles including 10.0 tackles for loss (-33) and 2.5 sacks (-9). He registered 13 quarterback hurries and two pass deflections and two forced fumbles. Olajubutu earned first-team All-SEC honors for his play in his senior season from both The Associated Press and league coaches.

Sophomore Jonathan Luigs and junior Chris Houston were recognized as second-team All-SEC selections. Luigs, a Rimington Trophy finalist, has already garnered third-team All-America honors from The Associated Press. He started all 13 games at center and racked up 30 knockdown blocks for the Razorbacks’ dominant rushing attack. Houston spent most of the season going one-on-one with the best wide receivers in the nation. The junior cornerback held Southern California’s Dwayne Jarrett, Vanderbilt’s Earl Bennett, Auburn’s Courtney Taylor and Tennessee’s Robert Meachum in check in key games. Houston earned 43 tackles and tallied a team-high 12 pass break-ups. He also forced two fumbles and picked off two passes.

Sports Category : Football