comscore script

McFadden Named to Walter Camp National Player of the Year Watch List

McFadden Named to Walter Camp National Player of the Year Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas sophomore Darren McFadden is one of the leading candidates for the national player of the year award it was announced by The Walter Camp Foundation on Friday.

McFadden was one of 35 players, including five sophomores, to be named to the pre-season watch list for the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

McFadden was an honorable mention All-America selection last season after rushing for 1,113 yards and 11 touchdowns. The consensus freshman All-American was also named as a first-team All-Southeastern Conference running back and the SEC Freshman of the Year.

The Little Rock native has already been named to the watch list for The Maxwell Award, an honor also recognizing the top college football player in the nation. He is a pre-season All-America selection and has garnered a spot on nearly every first-team All-SEC squad.

McFadden remains doubtful for the season opener against Southern California after suffering a toe injury late last month. The tailback had surgery on July 29 and hasn’t practiced since Arkansas opened pre-season camp.

The watch list for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in early November. The 2006 recipient, which is voted on by the 119 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on Jan. 13, 2007 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. Last year’s recipient was USC running back Reggie Bush.

2006 Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

Gaines Adams, DE, Senior, Clemson

Rufus Alexander, LB, Senior, Oklahoma

Dan Bazuin, DE, Senior, Central Michigan

Keyonvis Bouie, LB, Senior, Florida International

Steve Breaston, UTY, Senior, Michigan

Colt Brennan, QB, Junior, Hawaii

Brian Brohm, QB, Junior, Louisville

Michael Bush, RB, Senior, Louisville

Jamaal Charles, RB, Soph., Texas

Ken Darby, RB, Senior, Alabama

Ted Ginn Jr., WR, Junior, Ohio State

Michael Hart, RB, Junior, Michigan

Chad Henne, QB, Junior, Michigan

Kenny Irons, RB, Senior, Auburn

Dwayne Jarrett, WR, Junior, USC

Calvin Johnson, WR, Junior, Georgia Tech

LaRon Landry, DB, Senior, LSU

Chris Leak, QB, Senior, Florida

Marshawn Lynch, RB, Junior, California

Darren McFadden, RB, Soph., Arkansas

Brandon Meriweather, DB, Senior, Miami (Fla.)

Quentin Moses, DE, Senior, Georgia

Adrian Peterson, RB, Junior, Oklahoma

Paul Posluszny, LB, Senior, Penn State

Brady Quinn, QB, Senior, Notre Dame

Jeff Samardzija, WR, Senior, Notre Dame

Steve Slaton, RB, Soph., West Virginia

Troy Smith, QB, Senior, Ohio State

Drew Stanton, QB, Senior, Michigan State

Tyrell Sutton, RB, Soph., Northwestern

Drew Tate, QB, Senior, Iowa

Eric Weddle, DB, Senior, Utah

Pat White, QB, Soph., West Virginia

Patrick Willis, LB, Senior, Mississippi

Garrett Wolfe, RB, Senior, Northern Illinois

Sports Category : Football