comscore script

McGee nominated for Broyles Award

McGee nominated for Broyles Award

FAYETTEVILLE – University of Arkansas offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Garrick McGee has been nominated for the Broyles Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top assistant coach, it was announced Wednesday.

McGee coordinates the UA offense that leads the SEC in scoring offense, total offense, passing offense and first downs. The Razorbacks’ average of 316.9 passing yards per game ranks 10th in the NCAA, their average of 39.3 points per game ranks 13th in the nation while their average of 463.3 yards of total offense per game is 21st in the country and their average of 23.2 first downs per game is tied for 28th in the NCAA.

This year, quarterback Tyler Wilson became the second Razorback to throw for more than 3,000 yards in a season, a feat before only accomplished by Ryan Mallett, who surpassed the mark in 2009 and 2010 with McGee as his quarterbacks coach. This season, Wilson leads the SEC and ranks 11th in the NCAA with his average of 292.3 passing yards per game. The junior from Greenwood, Ark., also leads the conference and ranks 17th in the country with an average of 291.9 yards of total offense per game. Wilson is the only quarterback in the SEC and one of five in the NCAA to throw for at least 500 yards in a game this season after putting up 510 yards, the third-highest single-game total in the NCAA in 2011, in a 42-38 victory over Texas A&M.

Wide receivers Jarius Wright and Joe Adams rank first and second, respectively, on Arkansas’ career receptions list. Wright, who leads the SEC and ranks 31st in the NCAA with an average of 6.1 receptions per game this season, is the record holder with 163 catches while Adams, who ranks fourth in the SEC with an average of 4.2 receptions per game, is second with 155. Wright also leads the SEC and ranks 16th in the country with his average of 100.2 receiving yards per game and is currently second on UA’s all-time career receiving yards list with 2,819 and the Razorbacks’ single-season list with 1,002. Adams is fourth on the school’s all-time career receiving yards list with 2,353 and eighth in the SEC this season with an average of 54.1 receiving yards per game.

Running back Dennis Johnson ranks second in the SEC and 19th in the NCAA with his average of 147.2 all-purpose yards per game and is seventh in the conference at 67.3 rushing yards per game. Tight end Chris Gragg has 38 catches for 457 yards and two touchdowns this season, and his 3.5 receptions-per-game average is tied for sixth in the SEC.

This season, Arkansas’ offensive players have earned eight SEC player of the week honors, including the first time in conference history two players from the same school were named co-Offensive Players of the Week when Wilson and Wright shared the award following the Texas A&M game.

The five finalists for the Broyles Award will be announced Monday, and the winner will be announced Dec. 6 at 11:30 a.m. at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock. The Broyles Award is presented by the Rotary Club of Little Rock and was established in 1996 to honor former Arkansas head coach Frank Broyles.

No. 3 Arkansas travels to take on top-ranked LSU on Friday. Kickoff from Tiger Stadium in Baton Rouge, La., is set for 1:30 p.m. on CBS.

Sports Category : Football