comscore script

Modica Earns Postseason Honors From SEC, USBWA

Modica Earns Postseason Honors From SEC, USBWA
FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Jonathon Modica, a sophomore forward at Arkansas, picked up a pair of postseason awards on Wednesday by earning second-team All-Southeastern Conference honors while also being named to the United States Basketball Writers Association District 7 team.

Meanwhile, a day after earning national recognition from, Ronnie Brewer and Olu Famutimi were named to the SEC’s All-Freshman team.

The SEC team was voted on by the league’s coaches and USBWA’s District 7 includes all schools in Arkansas, Texas and Louisiana.

Modica the Razorbacks and ranks ninth in the SEC with 16.6 points per game. He’s also ninth in the league in field goal percentage (.462) and eighth in free throw percentage (.781). He leads the team with 35 three-point buckets and is the first Razorback to make 100 free throws in a season (107-137) since Kareem Reid in 1996 (116-169, .686).

A selection to the SEC All-Freshman squad last year, Modica has led the team in scoring a team-high 16 times and he’s been in double figures a team-high 21 times, including a team-high nine 20-point efforts.

His high scoring game is the 33-point performance against Mississippi State on Feb. 14, which still ties for the second-best single-game scoring effort in the SEC this year and matches the best in conference play.

Modica’s other highs are eight rebounds, four assists and four steals.

Joining Modica on the SEC second team are Florida’s David Lee and Matt Walsh, Auburn’s Marco Killingsworth, Georgia’s Rashad Wright, Kentucky’s Chuck Hayes, LSU’s Jaime Lloreda and Tennessee’s Scooter McFadgon.

The first squad consists of Mississippi State’s Lawrence Roberts and Timmy Bowers, Kentucky’s Gerald Fitch and Erik Daniels, Alabama’s Kennedy Winston, Ole Miss’ Justin Reed, Florida’s Anthony Roberson and Vanderbilt’s Matt Freije.

Roberts is the player of the year, South Carolina’s Dave Odom is the coach of the year and LSU’s Brandon Bass the freshman of the year. Wright is the defensive player of the year, VU’s Scott Hundley the sixth man of the year and MSU’s Shane Power the scholar-athlete of the year.

On Tuesday, Brewer was named a second-team freshman All-American by while Famutimi was an honorable mention selection.

Brewer is averaging 12.6 points, 5.7 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 2.1 steals per game. He is fifth in the conference in steals, seventh in assists and 17th in rebounding. Among freshmen, he is first in assists, steals and field goals made (124), second in scoring and rebounding, and seventh in blocked shots (0.7).

Famutimi ranks sixth among league freshmen in scoring (6.8), rebounding (3.3) and steals (0.88).

Joining Brewer and Famutimi on the all-freshman team are Bass, Alabama’s Jermareo Davidson, Georgia’s Levi Stukes, Ole Miss’ Todd Abernethy, MSU’s Gary Ervin and USC’s Renaldo Balkman.

Modica is joined on the USBWA District 7 team by Andre Emmett of Texas Tech, Michael Harris and Jason McKreith of Rice, LeRoy Hurd of Texas-San Antonio, Lloreda of LSU, Brandon Mouton and Royal Ivey of Texas, Filiberto Rivera of Texas-El Paso and Terrance Thomas of Baylor.

Sports Category :