comscore script

Monk Named to 2006 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Monk Named to 2006 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas junior Marcus Monk has been named to the watch list for the 2006 Biletnikoff Award it was announced by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., on Friday.

The award named for legendary Florida State and Oakland Raiders’ wide receiver Fred Biletnikoff, is presented annually to the nation’s top wide receiver. Monk is one of 51 candidates for the award including one of seven players from the Southeastern Conference. Bobby Engram of Penn State was the inaugural winner of the award in 1994. Oregon State’s Mike Hass won the award last season.

“It is a great credit to Marcus to be named to a watch list that includes the best wide receivers in college football,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt said. “He has been an impact player on our offense since arriving on campus as a freshman. I’m confident that we are in for another big season from No. 85.”

Monk set a UA freshman record in 2004 by hauling in 37 catches for 569 yards and six touchdowns. Last season, Monk led the Razorbacks in receiving yards and touchdowns with 476 yards and seven touchdowns on 35 receptions. In the season opener against USC, Monk caught a team-high tying four passes for 44 yards.

The 2006 Biletnikoff Award will be presented in December at the ESPN College Football Awards Show at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Fla. The annual awards banquet is held in February in Tallahassee.


Player, School

Andre Caldwell, University of Florida

Aundrae Allison, East Carolina University

Billy Pittman, University of Texas

Brian Hernandez, University of Utah

Caleb Spencer, University of Nevada

Calvin Johnson, Georgia Institute of Technology

Chandler Williams, Florida International University

Chansi Stucky, Clemson University

Chris Davis, Florida State University

Dallas Baker, University of Florida

Damien Linson, Central Michigan University

Davone Bess, University of Hawaii

Deon Butler, Pennsylvania State University

Derrick Williams, Pennsylvania State University

Deyon Williams, University of Virginia

D’Jaun Woods, Oklahoma State University

Dorien Bryant, Purdue University

Dwayne Bowe, Louisiana State University

Dwayne Jarrett, University of Southern California

Earl Bennett, Vanderbilt University

Eric Deslauriers, Eastern Michigan University

Eric Newman, Louisiana Tech University

Greg Carr, Florida State University

James Hardy, Indiana University

Jarrett Hicks, Texas Tech University

Jason Hill, Washington State University

Jeff Samardzija, University of Notre Dame

Joel Falani, Texas Tech University

Johnnie Lee Higgins, University of Texas at El Paso

Johnny Quinn, University of North Texas

Johnny Walker, Colorado State University

Jonny Harline, Brigham Young University

Jordy Nelson, Kansas State University

Kevin Robinson, University of Utah

Marcus Monk, University of Arkansas

Mario Urrutia , University of Louisville

Mike Thomas, University of Arizona

Mike Walker, University of Central Florida

Mohammad Massaquoi, University of Georgia

Nate Swift, University of Nebraska

Paul Williams, Fresno State University

Robert Johnson, Texas Tech University

Ryan Grice-Mullen, University of Hawaii

Ryan Robinson, Miami University, Ohio

Shaun Herbert, Northwestern University

Steve Smith,University of Southern California

Sydney Rice,University of South Carolina

Ted Ginn, Jr., Ohio State University

Todd Blythe, Iowa State University

Tony Pennyman, University of Utah

Vincent Marshall, University of Houston

*This list is an initial pre-season list of players for consideration. As the season progresses, other players may be added to this list.

Sports Category : Football