comscore script

More academic honors for track

More academic honors for track

FAYETTEVILLE – Six members of the Arkansas Razorback men’s and women’s track and field teams were named to the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches’ Association All-Academic Teams, it was announced earlier this week.

Representing head coach Lance Harter’s women’s squad were soon-to-be senior Miranda Walker and recently graduated Katie Stripling.

Stripling, a former All-American and SEC Champion in the pole vault, is now a four-time member of the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team (2007-10). She was also a two-time CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American during her time as a Razorback.

Walker, one of Arkansas’ top distance runners, was previously named to the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team during the 2008 season for track and field and during the 2006 and 2009 seasons for cross country.

From head coach Chris Bucknam’s men’s squad, soon-to-be senior Lane Boyer, soon-to-be sophomore Brede Raa Ellingsen, soon-to-be senior Luke Laird and soon-to-be junior Andrew Pennington were named to the list.

Boyer and Laird were also members of the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team during the 2009 track and field season. Boyer was an NCAA Indoor provisional qualifier at 3,000 meters and an NCAA Outdoor prelims qualifier at 10,000 meters in 2010. He was recognized on the 2008 and 2009 USTFCCCA All-Academic Teams for cross country. He was also named CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District during the 2010 track and field season. Laird was the 2008 SEC Champion and is a three-time NCAA qualifier in the javelin.

Ellingsen and Pennington are being recognized by the USTFCCCA for academics for the first time in their careers. Ellingsen was a 2010 NCAA Indoor All-American and SEC Outdoor runner-up in the high jump. Pennington, a 110-meter and 400-meter hurdler for Arkansas, was an NCAA Outdoor prelims qualifier.

Sports Category :