comscore script

More Than 30 Former Razorback Tennis Greats Return for Alumni Weekend

More Than 30 Former Razorback Tennis Greats Return for Alumni Weekend

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – More than 30 Razorback tennis greats will return to the University of Arkansas campus this weekend for the eighth annual UA Tennis Alumni Weekend. The bi-annual reunion is a three-day event that includes doubles matches pitting former Razorbacks against current members of the Arkansas tennis team.

Five former No. 1 ranked players are scheduled to return including Joey Blake, Peter Doohan, Chip Hooper, Oskar Johansson and Pat Serret. Doohan and Serret won the program’s only national title when they captured the NCAA doubles championship in 1982.

“We are excited that so many of our former players are coming back to campus for the alumni weekend,” Arkansas head coach Robert Cox said. “It is a great opportunity for our current guys to meet the former players that were instrumental in turning our program into one of the best in the country. Everybody has a great time re-living old times and getting back out on the court with their teammates.”

On Friday night, the former players will kick off the weekend with a private reception and dinner. On Saturday at 9 a.m., the alumni weekend will continue with doubles matches at the Dills Indoor Tennis Center. A short ceremony will be held at 11 a.m. followed by six matches featuring former Razorbacks against current UA team members. The action will conclude in plenty of time to allow everyone to attend the Arkansas-Vanderbilt basketball game at Bud Walton Arena at 2 p.m.

The weekend will conclude on Sunday morning with additional matches for the Razorback tennis alumni. Saturday and Sunday’s activities are open to the public. There will be no admission charged for alumni weekend. Former Razorbacks tentatively scheduled to attend include:

Greg Aclin

Kim Backus

Bobby Banck

Joey Blake

Buddy Bowman

Chris Campbell

Robert Cox

Drew Dees

Peter Doohan

Steve Duffel

Mark Dutton

Jef Falling

Greg Fess

Hal Fincher

Cliff Garcia

Joe Hickey

Ron Hightower

Chip Hooper

Imraan Ismail

Randy Jackson

Oskar Johansson

Magnus Kullenberg

Jose Lambert

Jack Lankford

Ewell Lee

John McConnell

Eddie Pacheco

Darin Phelan

Mike Phillips

Simon Robinson

Brian Sakey

Pat Serret

Scott Shankles

Tim Siegel

Mike Vogl

Jeff Wright

2006 Arkansas Tennis Alumni Tentative Schedule


9 a.m. Drew Dees / Jack Lankford vs. Current Razorbacks*

9 a.m. Randy Jackson / Joe Hickey vs. Current Razorbacks*

9 a.m. Ewell Lee / Current Razorback* vs. Hal Fincher / Current Razorback*

9 a.m. Jef Falling / Scott Shankles vs. Current Razorbacks*

* Current Razorback Pairings to be determined

10 a.m. Buddy Bowman / Mark Dutton vs. Braden Burks / Brian Yanulis

10 a.m. Scott Shankles / Joey Blake vs. Drew Sosebee / Branden Joost

10 a.m. Mike Vogl / Brian Sakey vs. Jimmy Khougassian / Michael Jung

10 a.m. Bobby Banck / Greg Aclin vs. Rohan Gajjar / Matt Roberts

10 a.m. Imraan Ismail / Magnus Kullenberg vs. Colin Mascall / Austin King

10 a.m. John McConnell / Chris Campbell vs. Adrians Zguns / Blake Strode

11 a.m. Razorback Tennis Alumni Weekend Ceremony

Feature Matches

11:15 a.m. Peter Doohan / Pat Serret vs. Matt Roberts / Rohan Gajjar

11:15 a.m. Tim Siegel / Simon Robinson vs. Blake Strode / Adrians Zguns

11:15 a.m. Oskar Johansson / Magnus Kullenberg vs. Brian Yanulis / Braden Burks

11:15 a.m. Jeff Wright / Eddie Pacheco vs. Jimmy Khougassian / Michael Jung

11:15 a.m. Jose Lambert / Greg Fess vs. Colin Mascall / Austin King

11:15 a.m. Chip Hooper / Ron Hightower vs. Drew Sosebee / Branden Joost

Current Razorback Players are listed in BOLD


8:30 a.m. Open Play – Razorback Alumni

Sports Category : Tennis (M)