comscore script

NCAA Regional for men’s golf

NCAA Regional for men’s golf

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The ninth-ranked University of Arkansas men’s golf team begins its postseason play in Stillwater, Okla., at the 2009 NCAA Regional Championships it was announced by the NCAA today. The Razorbacks enter the 13-team regional field as the No. 2 seed in their region and are looking for a top five finish to advance to the NCAA Championship. Arkansas opens play at Karsten Creek Golf Club May 14-16, and it is the program’s highest seed in recent memory. “Well, we’re very excited to start the postseason,” Arkansas head coach Brad McMakin said. “This is a hard golf course but that suites our game well. You have to play well no matter which regional you’re sent to. I think if we play well, we’ll get through. All of the regional selections were balanced and Layne (Assistant Coach Layne Savoie) and I were talking and we feel like we’re in good shape there. We hope for some good weather and to be able to get in some good practice before we leave.” The Razorbacks take on a tough field including the host and fourth-ranked Oklahoma State Cowboys, winners of the Big 12 Conference. Arkansas is the No. 2 seed followed by Mountain West winner and No. 16 Texas Christian. Southeastern Conference rival No. 21 LSU is the fourth seed, with Southern Conference winner No. 28 Chattanooga as the No. 5 seed. The rest of the field includes No. 33 Pepperdine, No. 40 Michigan State, No. 46 Baylor, No. 52 Northwestern No. 59 Tulsa, No. 61 Denver, No. 84 and winner of the Missouri Valley Wichita State and No. 137 and winner of the Summit League Oral Roberts. Ten individuals also advanced to this regional site. The NCAA hosts six 54-hole regional tournaments May 14-16, with the five lowest teams and lowest individual not on those teams advancing to the NCAA Championship May 26-30, at the Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio. The Razorbacks were selected to the NCAA Central Regional last year finishing tied for 19th in 2008. Ten of the 12 SEC members were selected to a regional this year. For more information about Arkansas men’s golf, log on to
Galloway National Golf Club – Galloway, New JerseyHosted by Columbia UniversityTeams (seeded in the following order):1. Clemson2. Alabama3. Illinois (Big Ten Conference)4. Tennessee5. Wake Forest6. Colorado State7. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)8. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)9. Virginia10. Penn State11. Minnesota12. VCU (Colonial Athletic Association)13. Columbia (Ivy Group)14. Sacred Heart (Northeast Conference)Individuals:1. Kevin O’Connell, North Carolina2. Dan Woltman, Wisconsin3. Robert Karlsson, Liberty4. Peter Williamson, Dartmouth5. Eric Hawerchak, Central Connecticut
University of Texas Golf Club – Austin, TexasHosted by the University of TexasTeams (seeded in the following order):1. Stanford2. Florida3. Texas Tech4. Texas 5. UNLV6. California7. Lamar (Southland Conference)8. Michigan9. Texas-Arlington10. Virginia Tech11. Mississippi State12. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)13. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)Individuals:1. Glenn Northcutt, Auburn2. Ken Looper, New Orleans3. Cole Moreland, Auburn4. Adam Cornelson, New Orleans5. Cedric Scotto, Southeastern Louisiana6. Jeff Gerlich, Texas State7. Matthew Carvell, Southeastern Louisiana8. Corey Roberson, Texas State9. Fergal Rafferty, Sam Houston10. Gonzalo Berlin, Jacksonville State
Lake Merced Golf Club – Daly City, CaliforniaHosted by the University of San FranciscoTeams (seeded in the following order):1. Southern California2. Texas A&M3. Arizona State4. San Diego State5. UC Davis (Big West Conference)6. Oregon7. New Mexico 8. Colorado9. UC Irvine10. Kansas State11. Oregon State12. San Diego13. San Francisco (West Coast Conference)Individuals:1. Grant Doverspike, Fresno State2. Brady Johnson, Brigham Young3. Nick Delio, Cal State Northridge4. Scott Smith, Nevada5. Geoff Gonzalez, Cal Poly6. Robbie Fillmore, Brigham Young7. Mark Hubbard, San Jose State8. Kevin Tucker, Washington State9. Bhavik Patel, Fresno State10. Greg Moss, Loyola Marymount
Red Tail Golf Club – Sorrento, FloridaHosted by the University of Central Florida and the Central Florida Sports CommissionTeams (seeded in the following order):1. Georgia (Southeastern Conference)2. Indiana3. South Carolina4. Central Florida (Conference USA)5. Florida State6. Arizona7. Augusta State8. Kentucky9. Georgia Southern10. Georgia State11. Iowa12. Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference)13. Campbell (Atlantic Sun Conference)14. Loyola (Maryland) (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)Individuals:1. Zach Sucher, UAB2. M. Etienne Bussierres, South Alabama3. Josh Brock, North Carolina-Wilmington4. Bill Jones III, Mercer5. Kelly McHugh, Florida Atlantic
The Club at Olde Stone – Bowling Green, KentuckyHosted by Western Kentucky UniversityTeams:1. Washington (Pacific-10 Conference)2. Georgia Tech (Atlantic Coast Conference)3. North Carolina State4. UCLA5. Mississippi6. East Tennessee State7. Duke8. Louisville (Big East Conference)9. Ohio State10. Vanderbilt11. Middle Tennessee (Sun Belt Conference)12. Austin Peay State (Ohio Valley Conference)13. Cleveland State (Horizon League)14. Bucknell (The Patriot League)Individuals:1. Mike Van Sickle, Marquette2. Sebastian MacLean, Xavier3. Trey Bowling, Eastern Kentucky4. Tyler Duncan, Purdue5. John Montgomery, Alabama State
Karsten Creek Golf Club – Stillwater, OklahomaHosted by Oklahoma State UniversityTeams: 1. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
2. Arkansas3. TCU (Mountain West Conference)4. LSU5. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)6. Pepperdine7. Michigan State8. Baylor9. Northwestern10. Tulsa11. Denver12. Wichita State (Missouri Valley Conference)13. Oral Roberts (The Summit League)Individuals:1. Trent Peterson, South Dakota State2. Peter Malnati, Missouri3. Tom Whitney, Air Force4. Kelly Kraft, SMU5. Eric Onesi, Old Dominion6. Chris Ross, Eastern Michigan7. Roger Sloan, UTEP8. Nate Page, Southern Utah9. Devin Carrey, Louisiana-Lafayette10. James Kwon, SMU

Sports Category : Golf (M)