comscore script

NCAAs SECs highlight 2010

NCAAs SECs highlight 2010

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The Arkansas Razorback men’s track and field team will begin the 2010 indoor slate with the hosting of the Arkansas Invitational, Jan. 8, at the Randal Tyson Track Center.

The Razorbacks will host seven meets during the indoor season at the Randal Tyson Track Center, including the Arkansas vs. Texas dual (Jan. 16), the SEC Indoor (Feb. 26-28) and the NCAA Indoor Championships (March 12-13). Also on the schedule are the Arkansas Invitational, the Razorback Invitational, the Tyson Invitational and the Arkansas Last Chance.

"We are lucky enough to have the best indoor track in the U.S. right here in Fayetteville so we definitely want to take advantage of that with competitive home meets," head coach Chris Bucknam said. "The trips to Texas A&M and New York will give us a chance to see some teams and individuals that will be challenging and we can learn from."

Arkansas will travel for indoor meets to the Texas A&M Challenge, Jan. 29-30 in College Station, Texas, and the New Balance Collegiate Invitational, Feb. 5-6 in New York, N.Y.

The outdoor season will begin with the Stanford Invitational and the Razorback Spring Invitational, March 26-27. The Razorback Spring Invitational will be a one-day event (March 26) at John McDonnell Field.

Trips to Texas Relays (March 31- April 3) and Penn Relays (April 22-24) highlight the month of April. Arkansas will also travel to Austin, Texas for the Arkansas vs. Texas dual April 17 at Mike A. Myers Stadium. The John McDonnell Invitational is set for April 9-10.

"Our coaching staff and team are excited about the dual meet with Texas," Bucknam said. "Dual meets are great for collegiate track and field and the University of Texas always fields a competitive team. This is a great tradition we hope to be starting."

The outdoor championship season will begin May 14-16 with the SEC Championships in Knoxville, Tenn. Arkansas has been named to the NCAA West Regional and will compete in Austin, Texas, May 27-29. The collegiate season will conclude with the NCAA Championships, June 9-12, in Eugene, Ore., on the campus of the University of Oregon.

The Razorbacks are led by seniors Alain Bailey, Scott MacPherson and Dorian Ulrey. Bailey is the 2009 Jamaican National Champion in the long jump, was a member of Team Jamaica at the 2009 IAAF World Championships in Berlin, has earned three-All-America honors and is the owner of four SEC titles.

MacPherson returns for the indoor season only and is an All-American and SEC Champion in the steeplechase. Ulrey had a stellar junior campaign that included a trip to the 2009 IAAF World Championships in Berlin as a member of Team USA. During the 2009 track season, he earned four All-America honors, won three SEC individual titles and clocked some of the NCAA’s fastest times in the 1,500 meters, the mile, the 3,000 meters and as a member of the distance medley relay.

MacPherson and Ulrey will lead a group of distance runners that includes two-time All-American Duncan Phillips, 2009 NCAA Mideast Region 800-meter Champion Chris Bilbrew, SEC All-Freshman Team honoree Rick Elliott and SEC DMR Champion Jake Stephens.

For more information on the team, the schedule or to purchase tickets, visit

Sports Category : Track & Field (M)