comscore script

Nine Razorbacks Receive SEC Academic Honors

Nine Razorbacks Receive SEC Academic Honors
FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Nine Arkansas baseball players were named to the 2005 Southeastern Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll.

The nine Razorbacks include seniors Clay Goodwin, Scott Hode and Trey Holloway; junior Charley Boyce; and sophomores James Gilbert, Lee Land, Brian McLelland, Josh Smith and Brian Walker.

This year’s honorees not only excelled in the classroom, they made significant contributions to a Razorback team that went 39-22 and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the fourth consecutive season. Boyce, the lone junior on the honor roll for the Razorbacks, led the club with 11 wins in 2005. Hode hit .309 and led the team with 144 assists. The list also consists of the Razorbacks’ co-leaders in saves, Holloway and Land, who each contributed four saves. Goodwin ended his career by totaling five home runs in 2005 with a .246 batting average.

Opposing base runners didn’t get very far on the base paths thanks to Walker, who gunned down 40 percent of all players trying to steal. Gilbert went 3-1 with 21 strikeouts. McLelland made 11 relief appearances and Smith started six games with an ERA of 5.10.

To be eligible for the 2005 SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll, the nine players met three basic standards: 1) a 3.0 grade point average for either the past year or for their career; 2) be a sophomore or higher in academic classification; and 3) have 24 semester hours countable toward a degree. The 2005 honor roll is based on grades from the 2003-04 academic year.

Sports Category :