comscore script

No. 13 men’s cross at home Friday night

No. 13 men’s cross at home Friday night

FAYETTEVILLE – The Arkansas Razorback men’s cross country team will open the 2010 season at the Arkansas Invitational Friday night in Fayetteville.

The Arkansas Invitational will take place Friday, Sept. 3 at Agri Park in Fayetteville. Arkansas and Missouri Southern will start the 6,600-meter race at 5:30 p.m.

In the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches’ Association national poll, released earlier this week, the Razorbacks open the season at No. 13. Arkansas is also ranked No. 1 in the South Central Region. Arkansas is the top-seated SEC team in the South Central Region and is the second-highest ranked of the SEC schools in the national poll.

Head coach Chris Bucknam is beginning his third season with Arkansas. His teams have won three SEC team titles, 15 SEC event titles and his student-athletes have earned 26 All-America honors.

Bucknam returns six letterwinners for the 2010 season. Seniors All-SEC Lane Boyer, All-SEC Michael Chinchar, all-region Patrick Russell and All-American Dorian Ulrey will lead juniors and All-SEC performers Rick Elliott and Duncan Phillips and sophomores All-SEC Eric Fernandez, SEC Freshman of the Year Solomon Haile and All-SEC Aaron Hamilton.

The Razorbacks welcome seven new faces to the squad for the 2010 season. True freshmen Toby Bothwell, Tyler Bradley and Bryan Cantero will represent the Razorbacks this season. Transfers Tom Cattin-Masson (Texas Tech), Caleb Hanson (UALR), Layne Nixon (UTSA) and Dey Tuach (Rend Lake College) will also wear the Cardinal and White. With a year of training under their belts, redshirt-freshmen Omar Abdi and Drew Butler will also join the Arkansas line up this season.

At the 2009 Arkansas Invitational, the Razorbacks recorded a perfect score of 15 points. Haile made the most of his Razorback debut and took the four-mile race win in a time of 19:43.9. He led his teammates to a perfect score of 15 points. The Razorbacks finished all five scorers in the top five and all seven runners in the top 13. Fernandez earned a runner-up finish with a time of 20:06.0. Boyer earned a bronze finish with a time of 20:21.0. Chinchar was fourth with a time of 20:34.5 and Hamilton rounded out the scoring five with a time of 20:39.1.

Download: 9.3.10 Ark Invit.pdf

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)