comscore script

No. 4 Razorbacks Set to Host West Preliminary

No. 4 Razorbacks Set to Host West Preliminary

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – This week 16 of the nation’s top-25 ranked teams will be at John McDonnell Field, as Arkansas is set to host the 2014 NCAA West Preliminary. The three-day meet will take place May 29-31, beginning at noon on Thursday.

WEST PRELIMINARY LINKS NCAA West Preliminary Site Meet Schedule Live Results Live Broadcast (Free of charge; running events only) Heat Sheets Razorback T&F on Twitter

BEST OF THE WEST Approximately 1,670 of the nation’s top athletes will compete at John McDonnell Field this week, with their sight set on qualifying for the NCAA Outdoor Championships in Eugene, Ore. Among the 200 teams heading to Fayetteville are 16 of the NCAA’s top-25 ranked teams: Texas A&M (2), Oregon (3), Arkansas (4) Texas (7), Oklahoma State (8), BYU (10), Wisconsin (12), Southern California (14), Baylor (15), Illinois (16), Arizona (20), Stanford (21), UCLA (22), Nebraska (23), New Mexico (25). 22 ENTRIES FOR ARKANSAS The No. 4 Razorbacks are fresh off the Southeastern Conference Outdoor Championships, finishing runner-up with three individual titles. Arkansas heads into the NCAA West Preliminary with 22 individuals competing in 16 events, including the 4×100 and 4×400 relays. It marks the third-largest preliminary contingent in the nation. Senior Anthony May enters the meet with the top triple jump mark at 53-0.75 and the No. 3 high jump mark at 7-3.75. In total, the Razorbacks have 12 top-10 performances heading into the preliminary meet. SEC HONORS Omar McLeod was named Freshman Runner of the Year, finishing as runner up in the 110-meter hurdles at the SEC Championships, his first collegiate outdoor championship meet. His personal-best 110-meter hurdles time of 13.50 ranks No. 2 all-time at Arkansas and makes him the eighth-fastest 110m hurdler in the NCAA and the No. 1 freshman 110m hurdler in the SEC. Franks was named Co-Scholar-Athlete, holding a 3.93 grade point average in his Masters of Business Administration. He holds a Walton MBA Scholarship and is a Walton MBA Student Ambassador and Mentor. He earned his B.S. degree in physics and B.S. in chemistry in three years, graduating Magna Cum Laude as a member of the Interdisciplinary Fulbright College Honors Program. Franks finished third in the decathlon at the 2014 SEC Outdoor Championships, helping the Razorbacks to a runner-up finish. He was also named to the SEC Track and Field Community Service Team. All-SEC First Team: Raymond Higgs, Stanley Kebenei All-SEC Second Team: Nathanael Franks, Gabe Gonzalez, Jarrion Lawson, Anthony May SEC All-Freshman Team: Omar McLeod, Larry Donald, Clive Pullen For more information on Razorback Track and Field, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter. NCAA West Preliminary Individual Qualifiers (By Athlete) Neil Braddy: 400m, 4×4, 4×1 Larry Donald: 400H Dwayne Golbek: High Jump Gabe Gonzalez: 10,000m Solomon Haile: 5,000m Eric Hawkins: 4×1 Raymond Higgs: Long Jump, Triple Jump Andrew Irwin: Pole Vault Eric Janise: 400m Stanley Kebenei: Steeplechase, 5,000m Noah Kittelson: High Jump Jarrion Lawson: Long Jump, 4×1, 4×4 Ken LeGassey: High Jump Anthony May: High Jump, Long Jump, Triple Jump Omar McLeod: 110H, 400H, 4×1 Pete Mirocke: Javelin Andrew Pisechko: 800m Clive Pullen: Triple Jump Devin Randall: Shot Put, Discus Patrick Rono: 800m Travis Southard: 4×4 Tomas Squella: 800m NCAA West Preliminary Individual Qualifiers (By Event) 400m: Braddy, Janise 800m: Rono, Squella, Pisechko Steeplchase: Kebenei 5,000m: Haile, Kebenei 10,000m: Gonzalez 110H: McLeod 400H: McLeod, Donald 4×100: Hawkins, Lawson, Braddy, McLeod 4×400: Lawson, Southard, McLeod, Braddy High Jump: May, Kittelson, LeGassey, Golbek Pole Vault: Irwin Long Jump: Higgs, Lawson, May Triple Jump: May, Pullen, Higgs Shot Put: Randall Discus: Randall Javelin: Mirocke

Download: 2014_WEST_Prelim_Schedule_Fayetteville_FINAL_APR30.pdf


Sports Category : Track & Field (M)