comscore script

Off the Court with Ana-Carlota Faussurier

BY ANDRES FOCIL
Off the Court with Ana-Carlota Faussurier

FAYETTEVILLE A 6-2 forward from Yecia, Spain, Ana-Carlota Faussurieris a redshirt freshman for the University of Arkansas women’s baskebtall team this season. Ana was a 2012 graduate of IES Joaquin Blume. She played for the Segle XXI club team in Barcelona, Spain, winning the Copa Catalunya LF2 in her senior season. Her all-junior team played in Spain’s second division against professional players and Faussurier was the only player to start all 27 games. Faussurier averaged 5.0 points per game and 4.8 rebounds per game in her final season 0.8 assists per game and 0.5 steals per game.

In addition, Faussurier was a member of the Spanish National Team and competed in the 16-under European Championships in Ptolemaida, Greece.

Ana is the daughter of Philippe and Esperanza Faussurier and has a younger brother, Jorge.

The Daily Call recently caught up with Ana to check in on how her season has gone so far and what her impressions of Arkansas have been.

The Daily Call: What made you want to come and play basketball and study here in America?

Ana-Carlota Faussurier:I came here because I know a lot of basketball players from Spain that have come here. It’s a really good experience to play baskebtall here and to study here. You learn English and another culture and it’s a big experience. In Spain, you can’t study and play. Here, you can do both and do them well.

TDC: So in Spain you either go to school and study or you play basketball professionally?

Ana:In Spain you play for a club, so it’s not for a university. Probably you would have class after you have practice.

TDC: What has it been like to be here at Arkansas as a student from overseas?

Ana: I really like it here and everyone helped me out when I came here with my English and all my other classes that I have to take. It’s really beautiful here and all the people are really nice.

TDC: What’s been the hardest part of adjusting since you’ve been here? Has it been the English?

Ana: It’s not the learning, because writing (in English) I’m really good. But, I’m really shy so to start speaking has been really hard for me.

TDC: What are you studying while here at Arkansas?

Ana: Psycology.

TDC: What do you like most about playing basketball?

Ana: I like how you feel when you are close in a game and then finally you win. For example, the final this summer in the European championship, we were really close and there was like 30 seconds and we were winning by like eight, so we were winning, but I wanted to win and I was still really nervious.

TDC: You just had a close game at home the other night with Florida. How did that feel then?

Ana: Yea, I was really nervous. I was like, ‘If you win this is the best moment. If you lose, this is going to be a really bad moment.’

TDC: How old were you when you started playing basketball?

Ana: I think I started when I was 10 or nine years old.

TDC: Do you have a favorite memory from when you were younger and playing?

Ana: My favorite game was the semifinal when I was 12 years old and we were losing by 17 points and there was 10 minutes left in the game. We came back and won by seven. I made my first three shots, so it was really good.

TDC: What do you think is the biggest difference between playing basketball in Spain and playing here in America?

Ana: Here it’s more physical, but still it’s really similar. There is always a difference though between coaches. It depends on what coach you have because they like to play different.

TDC: Do you have a favorite athlete?

Ana: Michael Jordan is my favorite player in the world. But, I like watching how they all play.

TDC: Do you have a favorite sport or another sport you really like besides basketball?

Ana: Besides basketball, I would say volleyball because I like to watch it.

TDC: So if you could play any other sport here on campus, would it be volleyball? Think you’d be good?

Ana: Yes, volleyball. I haven’t played. I’ve only played basketball in my life, so I don’t know if I would be really good.

TDC: What’s a hidden talent that you have that people may not know? Maybe you can sing really well or you dance? Something like that.

Ana: No no. I really don’t like to sing and I’m shy. I don’t know if I would sing in front of people or dance in front of people. I think I’m a good listener to other people.

TDC: Are there any hobbies then that you have or things you like to do in your free time?

Ana: I like when I’m really sad or have a bad moment in my life, I like to see a movie or a show. I go away from everything and I focus on that.

TDC: Do you have any favorite movies or TV shows?

Ana: My favorite movie is Coach Carter, the basketball movie. But, I like everything. Anything that I can focus on and go away from everything with.

TDC: What would you say is the greatest invention of the last 100 years?

Ana: Skype, because if I was here without Skype and without seeing my parents that would be hard. I try to Skype with them every day, but sometimes when we travel I can’t.

TDC: If you could have one super power what would it be?

Ana: Teleportation, because I travel a lot. This summer I took 22 flights. Four of them were 12 hours. If I could travel in like 12 seconds that would be nice. I saw one movie that was like that and I thought, ‘This. This is perfect for me.’ (laiughs)

TDC: How often do you go back and forth from here and home?

Ana: Not a lot. I come here in the summer and then when school finishes I go back. My Dad came here for Christmas to visit me.

TDC: How long was your father here? Did you two do anything fun or different?

Ana: He was here 16 days. He cooked for me a lot of food that I like. We visited around and saw some lakes.

TDC: What did your father cook for you while he was here?

Ana: There is one dish in spain called tortilla patata and I always want this. In Spain, everybody likes thetortilla patata, but the one that is cooked by their family. It’s a family thing that everybody has.

TDC: In 10 years what do you think you’ll be doing?

Ana: I really don’t know. Three years ago I really didn’t know I was coming here. But, I really like it here. It is a pretty area and the people are nice.



Sports Category : Basketball (W)