comscore script

Razorback Linksters to Conclude Fall Season in

Razorback Linksters to Conclude Fall Season in

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – After posting three top-six finishes in the fall campaign, the 17th-ranked Arkansas golf team will wrap up the season as the highest ranked team at the Country Club of Louisiana Intercollegiate in Baton Rouge, La. The Hogs hope to end their fall season on a good note with a strong showing on the Country Club of Louisiana’s par-72, 7,060-yard golf course.
“This tournament presents a great opportunity for us as a team,” Arkansas head coach Mike Ketcham said. “It’s played on a great course and has an excellent field of schools. It’s important that we use this last tournament of the fall to end on a good note and head into spring with a good outlook.”
Arkansas’ lineup will include three seniors, Andrew Dahl, Chad Faucett and Seth Murphy, and two freshmen, Beau Glover and Matt Bortis. Murphy has been playing solid golf and is leading the team with a low stroke average of 71.3. He has been UA’s top finisher in the past two tournaments and registered a career-best finish of third place overall at the Club Glove Intercollegiate.
The Louisiana Intercollegiate will mark Faucett’s second tournament of the season. Faucett last played on September 11, at the Topy Cup in Japan where he tied for 18th with a six-over-par 222.
Dahl has competed in all three tournaments so far this season and is carding a 74.1 stroke average. His best showing came at the Topy Cup when he tied for fifth place with an even 216.
This tournament will also be Bortis’ second tournament of the season. Last week at the Gary Koch Intercollegiate he tied with teammates Dahl and Paul Bradshaw for 32nd place. Bortis’ stroke average of 73.7 is second on the team.
Glover has consistently been UA’s second man on the squad and has posted two top-30 finishes in his last outings. The Sherwood, Ark., native has a 74.2 stroke average for the season and will look to improve his numbers in Baton Rouge.
Joining Arkansas on the course will be 10 other schools, including Baylor, College of Charleston, Georgia Southern (18), Kent State (48), North Carolina State, North Florida, SMU, Southeastern Louisiana, Tulane and UAB. Four Southeastern Conference schools will also be represented with LSU (39), Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Vanderbilt (29) all making the trip.
Two rounds of play will take place on Monday with the first 18 holes starting at 7:30 a.m., while the final round will begin on Tuesday at 8 a.m.

Sports Category :