comscore script

Razorback Jonathan Luigs Wins Rimington Trophy

Razorback Jonathan Luigs Wins Rimington Trophy

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. University of Arkansas center Jonathan Luigs is the recipient of the 2007 Rimington Trophy, given annually to the nation’s most outstanding center in college football. The announcement was made today by the Rimington committee.

Luigs will be recognized as the winner at The Home Depot College Football Awards show, broadcast live on ESPN, in Orlando, Florida on December 6, 2007. The annual Rimington Trophy awards banquet will be held at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 12, 2008.

"This is a tremendous eye opener for me especially when I look at the history of the trophy and the distinguished lists of winners. It is an honor to be mentioned in the same circle and even bigger honor to receive the trophy", said Jonathan Luigs.

Luigs is the centerpiece of a University of Arkansas offensive line that has cleared the way for the SEC’s top rushing attack (296.8 yards per game) which ranks third in the nation The junior is riding a streak of 28 consecutive starts at center for the Razorbacks and leads the offensive line with a 90.4 percent grade average including team-leading averages in run (86.1 percent) and pass (96.9 percent) blocking. He cleared the way for two 1,000-yard rushers in Darren McFadden (1,725) and Felix Jones (1,117).

Luigs has already been honored with the SEC’s Jacobs Blocking Trophy, as a Rivals first-team All-American and as an SEC Coaches’ and AP All-SEC first-team honoree.

"It is an honor to name Jonathan as the winner of the 2007 Rimington Trophy. He and the Razorbacks played a great season. To compete at the level Jonathan did against such a tough SEC defense, it is a testament to the strength and skill that makes him the top collegiate center. Congratulations to all the watch list candidates, finalists and Jonathan," added Dave Rimington

Luigs will line up against Rimington Trophy finalist Adam Spieker and the Missouri Tigers in the 2008 AT&T Cotton Bowl which will take place on January 1, 2008 in Dallas, Texas.

About the Rimington Trophy

The eight-year old trophy is presented by Canon and The Cornhusker Marriott. The award is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Esiason created his foundation in 1993 to support research and treatment of cystic fibrosis. Esiason and Dave Rimington were teammates on the Cincinnati Bengals from 1984-87. Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first team All- America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982 during which he became the John Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s premiere college interior lineman.

Past recipients include Dominic Raiola (Nebraska. 2000), LeCharles Bentley (Ohio State, 2001), Brett Romberg (Miami, 2002), Jake Grove (Virginia Tech, 2003), co- winners David Baas (Michigan, 2004) and Ben Wilkerson (LSU, 2004), Greg Eslinger (Minnesota, 2005) and Dan Mozes (West Virginia, 2006).

Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $1.03 million for its benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. It, in turn, is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation which, to date, has raised nearly $60 million for Cystic Fibrosis research.

Sports Category : Football