comscore script

Razorbacks Announce 2005 Baseball Awards

Razorbacks Announce 2005 Baseball Awards

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The Arkansas baseball team announced its 2005 award winners on Monday afternoon in a team meeting.
The winners were chosen by a vote of players and coaches.
Junior right-hander Charley Boyce was named Razorbacks’ 2005 Most Valuable Player and was honored for his service as a team captain in 2005. Boyce was 11-10 with three saves and a 3.53 ERA this season. The Broken Arrow, Okla., native threw the second-most innings by any pitcher in school history with 122.1. The workhorse worked 15 innings in two starts at the NCAA Austin Regional.
Freshman Nick Schmidt was selected as the Hogs’ Pitcher of the Year. The High Ridge, Mo., native had an 8-2 record as Arkansas’ Friday night starter. Schmidt posted 2.80 ERA in 99.2 innings of work. He struck out a team-high 89 batters and held opponents to a team-low .235 batting average.
Hitter of the Year went to sophomore first baseman Danny Hamblin. The Rowlett, Texas, native led the Razorbacks’ offense with a .341 batting average, 19 doubles, 10 home runs and 49 RBI. He also posted team highs in slugging percentage (.573) and on-base percentage (.420).
The Charlie Hustle Award went to redshirt freshman catcher Brian Walker. The Tulsa, Okla., product took over as the Hogs starting catcher and on-field leader in 2005. He threw out almost 40 percent of base runners, while handling the pitching staff. Walker also hit .251 with seven home runs and 25 RBI.
Senior shortstop Scott Hode was also honored for his service as a team captain. The Crystal Lake, Ill., native hit a career-best .309 with three home runs and 16 doubles.

MVP: Charley Boyce
Pitcher of the Year: Nick Schmidt
Hitter of the Year: Danny Hamblin
The Charlie Hustle Award: Brian Walker

Captains: Scott Hode and Charley Boyce

Sports Category :