comscore script

Razorbacks Open 2006 Cross Country in Fayetteville

Razorbacks Open 2006 Cross Country in Fayetteville

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas cross country will open the 2006 season with the hosting of the Arkansas Invitational, Fri., Sept. 8, at 7 p.m. The four-mile race will take place at the Razorback Cross Country Course at Agri Park. Running with the Razorbacks on Friday night will be Missouri Southern.

Back from the 2005 season and running on Friday will be All-American Kenny Cormier, All-SEC Shawn Forrest, All-American Peter Kosgei, Jonathan Norris, All-SEC Adam Perkins and Seth Summerside.

Colin Costello, Daniel LaCava, Scott MacPherson and Rio Reina will be making their Razorback cross country debuts after redshirting the 2005 season.

Last year at the Arkansas Invitational, the Razorbacks started the 2005 cross country season the best way they new how – by turning in perfect team score (15). Eight UA runners comprised the top 10 finishers, while Missouri Southern was second with 50 points.

Forrest and senior Josphat Boit crossed the line in a tie to take top honors. They held a sizable lead for most of the race and both registered times of 19:21. Summerside was next in third place in his cross country debut (19:54). Tyler Hill recorded a time of 20:03 for fourth place. Josh Robles was the final UA scorer in sixth place (20:19).

Head coach John McDonnell, in his 35th season with the Hogs, has led Arkansas to 32-consecutive conference cross country titles and 15-consecutive SEC cross country titles.

In its heralded history, Arkansas has produced 11 NCAA cross country crowns. The Cardinal and White have also won three individual NCAA titles from two student-athletes, Joe Falcon (1987) and Godfrey Siamusiye (1995 and 1996).

At the 2005 NCAA cross country championships, No. 2 Arkansas earned a silver finish, behind No. 1 Wisconsin, with Boit, Kosgei and Cormier earning All-America honors.

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)