comscore script

Razorbacks picked to win 2013 SEC Championship

Razorbacks picked to win 2013 SEC Championship

FAYETTEVILLE — The University of Arkansas women’s cross country team was picked to win the 2013 SEC Cross Country Championships, in a vote of the league’s head coaches. “This speaks highly of the development of our group of athletes from the last cross country season until now,” head coach Lance Harter said. “We had a good run throughout the indoor and outdoor track season that has really helped us prepare for this season. I see the SEC this year as another year that will have a good fight to the finish from many teams in the conference. ” The Razorbacks return five members from last year’s team, Grace Heymsfield, Diane Robison, Jessica Kamillos, Paige Johnston and Shannon Klenke that earned All-Region honors after winning the NCAA South Central Regional in Fayetteville, Ark. Arkansas has won 13 SEC cross country titles since joining the conference in 1991 with the program’s last league crown coming in 2008. The Razorbacks have been the conference runner-up the past three seasons. The team will be under the guidance of
Harter who will begin his 24th season at the helm of the Razorback women’s cross country and track and field programs. Points for the women’s poll were awarded on a 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10-11-12-13 basis with head coaches not allowed to vote for their own team. The 2013 SEC Cross Country Championships are slated to take place Friday, Nov. 1 at Mark Bostic Golf Course in Gainesville, Fla. For more information on Arkansas Women’s Cross Country, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter. 2013 SEC Women’s Predicted Order of Finish
1. Arkansas (11) 15 2. Florida (2) 27 3. Vanderbilt (1) 39 4. Georgia 62 5. Ole Miss 64 6. Texas Aamp;M 69 7. Kentucky 75 8. Missouri 107 9. Alabama 108 10. South Carolina 130 11. Mississippi State 133 12. Tennessee 142 13. Auburn 147 14. LSU 156 (first-place votes)

Sports Category : Cross Country (W)