comscore script

Red-White rosters chosen

Red-White rosters chosen

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — It will be the scribes vs. the vibes on Sunday afternoon at Bud Walton Arena in the Razorback men’s basketball team’s Red-White scrimmage beginning at 3 p.m. Head Coach Mike Anderson invited several media members to act as celebrity coaches for the event which will serve as a collection point for area food banks. On the sidelines, the Red team will include area television personalities, the vibes, Aaron Peters of KNWA, Mike Irwin of KFSM and Mike Jacques of KHOG. The White squad will be coached by the scribes, Bob Holt of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Chris Bahn of ArkansasSports360 and Nate Allen. The celebrity coaches gathered at Bud Walton Arena on Tuesday to conduct a draft of players. The Arkansas coaching staff paired players up by position so that when one name was selected, his partner would automatically go to the other team in an effort to keep the teams even. Peters won the coin toss to determine first pick and after some consultation with his group chose freshman BJ Young, giving Rashad Madden to the White team. The writers then got the next two picks and went with a pair of veterans in junior Marshawn Powell and Julysses Nobles. The picks gave freshman Devonta Abron and sophomore Rickey Scott to the Red team. With the fourth pick, the TV personalities took freshman Hunter Mickelson, giving senior Marvell Waithe to the White team. The writer’s final pick was sophomore Mardracus Wade, placing sophomore Kikko Haydar on Red. The vibes ended the draft by picking up sophomore Davion Spivey moving sophomore Charlie Henderson to the White squad. Freshman Matt Thompson will play on both teams and senior Michael Sanchez will not be able to participate as he continues to recover. The Red-White scrimmage is the final opportunity for the Razorbacks to participate in game-like situations before they take the floor for the first exhibition game of the season on Nov. 4 against Texas A&M-Commerce. Along with the scrimmage, fans will get a chance to meet Arkansas’ players with a 45-minute autograph session on the Bud Walton Arena concourse beginning at 1:45 p.m. Season tickets for Razorback basketball games are on sale at the Razorback Ticket Center by calling 1-800-982-HOGS or by going on-line at Ticket packages are $500 and include admission to all 20 regular season games at Bud Walton Arena as well as both exhibition contests.

Red Roster
No.PlayerPos.Ht.Wt.Class-Exp.Hometown (Previous School)
3Rickey ScottG6-3205SO-1LIrving, Texas (MacArthur HS)
4Devonta AbronF6-8250FR-HSDallas, Texas (Seagoville HS)
11B.J. YoungG6-3175FR-HSSt. Louis, Mo. (McCluer North HS)
14Davion SpiveyG6-2208SO-TRRuston, La. (Ruston HS/Holmes CC)
15Matthew ThompsonG6-4186FR-HSPlano, Texas (John Paul II HS)
20Kikko HaydarG5-10163SO-1LFayetteville, Ark. (Fayetteville HS)
21Hunter MickelsonF6-10234FR-HSJonesboro, Ark. (Westside HS)
Celebrity Coaches (the vibes): Mike Irwin, Mike Jacques, Aaron Peters
White Roster
No.PlayerPos.Ht.Wt.Class-Exp.Hometown (Previous School)
00Rashad MaddenG6-5178FR-HSLepanto, Ark. (East Poinsett County HS)
1Mardracus WadeG6-2178SO-1LMemphis, Tenn. (Hargrave [Va.] Military)
5Charlie HendersonF6-5190SO-TRColumbia, Mo. (Rock Bridge HS/Westminster College)
15Matthew ThompsonG6-4186FR-HSPlano, Texas (John Paul II HS)
22Marvell WaitheF6-9195SR-1LToronto, Canada (Sir Wilfrid Laurier CI, Tallahassee CC)
23Julysses NoblesG6-1193JR-2LJackson, Miss. (Callaway HS)
33Marshawn PowellF6-7227JR-2LNewport News, Va. (The Miller [Charlottesville, Va.] School)
Celebrity Coaches (the scribes): Nate Allen, Chris Bahn, Bob Holt

Sports Category : Basketball (M)