comscore script

Schmidt and Arnold Named to SEC All-Freshman T

Schmidt and Arnold Named to SEC All-Freshman T

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Arkansas freshmen Nick Schmidt and Clint Arnold were named to the SEC All-Freshman team the conference announced Tuesday.
Schmidt, a left-handed pitcher from High Ridge, Mo., posted a 7-2 record and a 2.90 ERA in his freshman campaign. He pitched 83.2 innings and quickly became the Razorbacks’ Friday night starter and ace.
Arnold played all over the field for the Razorbacks in his first season. The Cedar Hill, Texas, native started 10 games behind the plate, 16 games in left field and 18 games at designated hitter. Arnold has a .319 batting average, six doubles, eight stolen bases and 22 RBI this season.
Arkansas did not have a player named to either the first or second all-conference team. Florida’s Matt LaPorta was named the SEC Player of the Year and Tennessee’s Luke Hochevar was tabbed as the Pitcher of the Year. The Volunteers’ J.P. Arencibia won the Freshman of the Year award and LSU senior pitcher Jason Determann was named the Scholar Athlete of the Year.
The Razorbacks begin play in the SEC Tournament on Wednesday at 5 p.m. against SEC Champion Florida at Hoover Metropolitan Stadium.

Sports Category :