comscore script

SEC Winter Academic Honors Announced

SEC Winter Academic Honors Announced

FAYETTEVILLE — The University of Arkansas women’s swimming and diving team led the Razorbacks with 15 selections to the 2009-10 Southeastern Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll the league announced this week.

Arkansas had 25 student-athletes honored including 15 from head coach Jeff Poppell’s squad. In addition the Razorback gymnastics team had seven student-athletes selected along with two from the Razorback women’s basketball team. The Arkansas men’s basketball team rounded out the honorees with one selection.

Arkansas’ honorees have majors ranging from agribusiness to political science. Two gymnasts, Casey Jo Magee, an eight-time All-American, and Sarah Nagashima, a beam All-American, are making their fourth appearance on a league-sponsored honor roll.

Several others including Gina Bargiachi, Ashley Largo, Erin Neumann and Erica Totten from the swimming and diving team and gymnast Stacy Bartlett are being honored for a third time.

Bargiachi and Neumann are members of the Arkansas Athletic Department Academic Championship with 4.0 grade point averages and all four a multiple-time selections to the Razorback’s Academic Honor Roll.

The 2009-10 Winter SEC Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2009 spring, summer and fall terms. To be selected a student-athlete must (1) have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) Grade point averages during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the honor roll. (3) Those eligible include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

2010 Southeastern Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll

Stephen Cox M. Basketball Agribusiness
Brittney Richardson W. Basketball Kinesiology
Ashlea Williams W. Basketball Biology
Stacy Bartlett Gymnastics Nutrition
Amy DeFilippo Gymnastics Kinesiology
Molly Lewis Gymnastics Communications
Casey Jo Magee Gymnastics Kinesiology
Sarah Nagashima Gymnastics Apparel Studies
Jaime Pisani Gymnastics Kinesiology
Genny Salvatore Gymnastics Art
Gina Bargiachi W. Swimming Art
Katherine Davis W. Swimming Elementary Education
Madeline Fogel W. Swimming Political Science
Megan Haskins W. Swimming Finance
Sarah Howard W. Swimming Journalism
Ashley Largo W. Swimming Communications
Lisa Lunkenheimer W. Swimming Kinesiology
Erin Neumann W. Swimming Communication Disorders
Lynette Ng W. Swimming Communications
Courtney O’Grady W. Swimming Business
Leah Pierce W. Swimming Kinesiology
Alexandra Roman W. Swimming Spanish
Jilliene Schilling W. Swimming Communication Disorders
Erica Totten W. Swimming Journalism
Katherine Whitbeck W. Swimming Engineering

Sports Category :