comscore script

Shawn Andrews Named Finalist for Outland Troph

Shawn Andrews Named Finalist for Outland Troph

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas junior offensive tackle Shawn Andrews has been named one of three finalists for the 2003 Outland Trophy it was officially announced on Monday. Andrews joins Iowa offensive tackle Robert Gallery and LSU defensive tackle Chad Lavalais as finalists for the national award. The winner of the 2003 Outland Trophy will be announced Dec. 11 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla.
Andrews has also been named as one of four finalists for the Rotary Lombardi Award. He is the only player to be a finalist for both awards this season. He has already been selected to the Football Writers Association of America’s All-America team. Andrews is the first back-to-back Razorback first team All-America selection since Billy Ray Smith Jr. (1981-82).
“I’m so proud of Shawn and what he has accomplished this season,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt said. “He is the only player in the country to be a finalist for both the Outland Trophy and the Lombardi Award. That is a tribute to his hard work and dedication. Shawn is a special player. He now has an opportunity to join the other great college football players that have won the Outland Trophy.”
The Camden, Ark., product has racked up a team-high 85 knockdowns this season including a school record total of 21 in the Razorbacks’ 34-31 double-overtime win at Alabama. He also made school history by becoming the first UA offensive lineman to earn a rushing attempt in a win over New Mexico State. Andrews has three career carries for three yards and two touchdowns.
Andrews will attempt to become the third Razorback to win the Outland Trophy. Offensive guard and defensive tackle Bill “Bud” Brooks was Arkansas’ inaugural winner in 1954. UA Defensive Tackle Loyd Phillips captured the honor in 1966.
This year’s winner will receive his trophy during a banquet on Jan. 8 in Omaha, Neb. The banquet is sponsored by the Omaha Sports Committee, and will honor 1987 Outland winner Chad Hennings.
The first Outland Award was presented to the late George Connor of Notre Dame. Several notable linemen have won the Outland over the years. However, the FWAA only started presenting a trophy to the winner in the last 15 years. Past winners who have do not have trophies are receiving them at the presentation banquet each January when the current-day winners receive their trophies.

Sports Category :