comscore script

Softball garners 20 department academic accola

Softball garners 20 department academic accola

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – With the conclusion of the 2009 academic year, the University of Arkansas athletic department has recognized the classroom success of its student-athletes. Twenty members of the Razorback softball team were honored, including three named Academic Champions for posting a 4.0 GPA.
Jessica Bachkora, Hillary Freeman and Sandra Smith lead the group of softball student-athletes with their designation as Academic Champions. Five members of the softball team were named to the Athletic Director’s List (3.50-3.99 GPA), while 12 earned spots on the Athletic Department Honor Roll (3.00-3.49).
“We are proud of the many academic accomplishments of our student-athletes,” Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. “These academic champions balance the rigors of a full-time academic schedule with the demands of practice, training and competing athletically in their given sports. This special group of student-athletes has demonstrated the ability to not only compete, but succeed both in the classroom and in athletic competition.”
The Athletic Director’s List includes Miranda Dixon, Amie Hubbard, Kayla Johnson, Tori Mort and Lindsey Wells. The 12 members of the Athletic Department Honor Roll are Brandy Baze, Amanda Caldwell, Lauren Chisom, Whitney Cloer, Leslie Dixon, Emily Jones, Kim Jones, Layne McGuirt, Brittany Robison, Jessica Robison, Jessica Waddle and Westy Wynne.
In total, 190 University of Arkansas student-athletes were honored for posting a 3.0 or above GPA. For more information about Razorback athletics, log on to

Sports Category :