comscore script

Swanson named to Rimington Watch List

Swanson named to Rimington Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE – Arkansas center Travis Swanson has been named to the Rimington Trophy 2011 Spring Watch List, it was announced Thursday. He is one of just five sophomores on the list.

Swanson started all 13 games at center for the Razorbacks as a redshirt freshman in 2010, helping Arkansas be the only team in the SEC to start the same offensive line every game. The Kingwood, Texas, native was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team after UA produced the first season in school history with a 3,000-yard passer and a 1,000-yard rusher. Arkansas also was the only team in the country with a 3,000-yard passer, a 1,000-yard rusher and five 600-yard receivers.

Swanson helped block for quarterback Ryan Mallett, who broke the school record for passing yards in a season, and running back Knile Davis, who produced the fourth-highest single-season rushing total in school history. Arkansas finished the season first in the SEC and fourth in the NCAA in passing with an average of 333.7 yards per game, becoming just the third team since 1992 to lead the conference in passing in consecutive seasons. The Razorbacks also ranked second in the SEC and ninth in the country with an average of 482.5 yards of total offense per game and second in the conference and 17th in the NCAA in scoring offense after averaging 36.5 points per game.

In 2007, Jonathan Luigs became the first Rimington Trophy winner in Arkansas history.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding FBS center by determining the consensus All-American center from the America Football Coaches Association, the Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and the Football Writers Association of America. It is named after Dave Rimington, a two-time consensus All-American at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982. This year’s winner will honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 14, 2012.

The Rimington Trophy 2011 Spring Watch ListChris Anzevino, Sr., Kent StateEloy Atkinson, Jr., UTEPMario Benavides, Jr., LouisvillePhilip Blake, Sr., BaylorBen Bojicic, Sr. Bowling GreenColin Boss, Sr., Middle Tennessee StateMike Brewster, Sr., Ohio StateTerrence Brown, Sr., BYUBen Burkett, Sr., NorthwesternThomas Byrd, Sr., Boise StateMike Caputo, Sr., NebraskaNick Carlson, Jr., WyomingTom Castilaw, Sr., Arkansas StateBraxton Cave, Sr., Notre DameTrent Dupy, Jr., TulsaDillon Farrell, So., New MexicoJames Ferentz, Jr., IowaDalton Freeman, Jr., ClemsonKevin Galeher, Jr., Western MichiganGrant Garner, Sr., Oklahoma StateGarth Gerhart, Sr., Arizona StateJeremiah Hatch, Sr., KansasA.J. Hawkins, Jr., MississippiCam Holland, Sr., North CarolinaTyler Horn, Sr., MiamiGrant Johnson, Sr., Oregon StateT.J. Johnson, So., South CarolinaBen Jones, Jr., GeorgiaPeter Konz, Jr., WisconsinTyler Larsen, So., Utah StateP.J. Lonergan, Jr., LSUJoe Madsen, Jr., West VirginiaKai Maiava, Sr., UCLABlake McJunkin, Sr., SMUDavid Molk, Sr., MichiganBrian Moore, Jr., DukeWeston Richburg, So., Colorado StateMatt Smith, Jr., KentuckyDarion Smith, Sr., UABTravis Swanson, So., ArkansasWilliam Vlachos, Sr., AlabamaScott Wedige, Sr., Northern Illinois

Sports Category : Football