comscore script

Track and Field Splits for Texas Relays Stanford Invitational

Track and Field Splits for Texas Relays Stanford Invitational

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. Arkansas track and field will make its team debut at the 81st Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays in Austin, Texas, April 5-7, and the Stanford Invitational in Palo Alto, Calif., April 4-5.

Live stats can be found at each host’s website and a complete recap will be available on daily.

Arkansas track and field is ranked No. 13 by the US Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association in the preseason ranking. Arkansas is one of six SEC schools ranked in the top 25.

In the E-8 individual rankings, J-Mee Samuels is No. 5 in the 100 meters and the 4×100-meter relay ranks No. 7. In the field events, Nkosinza Balumbu ranks No. 3 in the triple jump.

Tyler Hill, Peter Kosgei and James Strang will compete at the Stanford Invitational this weekend. A historically strong meet for the distance events, Hill is running for a regional time in the 5K (14:12) and Kosgei and Strang will run for a provisional (29:30) or automatic (28:45) time in the 10K.

The Hogs have won 53 Texas Relays titles since the meet’s inception in 1925. Arkansas was named the Most Outstanding team in 1987 while the following individuals were named Most Outstanding Athlete: Randy Stephens, 1982; Joe Falcon, 1988; Scott MacPherson, 2005 (Plano HS).

Friday night in Austin, the Hogs will be in the hunt for their 10th-straight title win in the 4×1,500-meter relay. Michael Chinchar, Micky Cobrin, Shawn Forrest, Daniel LaCava, Alex McClary and Andy McClary are all potential 4×1,500-meter relay legs. Arkansas has won 16 4×1,500-meter relay titles since the start of the event in 1925 with its first win in the event coming in 1951.

Of the relay events contested In Austin, Arkansas is scheduled to compete in the 4×800-meter relay, the 4×100-meter relay, the sprint medley relay, the 4×1,500-meter relay and the distance medley relay.

Daniel LaCava (Hurst), Greg Martin (The Woodlands), Daniel Quinn (McKinney) and Rio Reina (San Antonio) will return to their home state this weekend. Many also competed in Texas Relays as high school student-athletes.

Micky Cobrin, Tyler Hill, Peter Kosgei and Greg Martin will begin their final outdoor season as Razorbacks on Friday. Cobrin is a 2008 All-American and 2008 SEC Champion. Hill is a 2008 All-American, a three-time All-SEC performer and a regional and national qualifier. Kosgei is a 10-time All-American and a five-time SEC Champion. Martin is a regional and national qualifier and has earned two All-SEC honors.

Download: 4.2.08 TX Relays Stanford.pdf

Sports Category : Track & Field (M)