comscore script

Union County honors former Razorbacks

Union County honors former Razorbacks

FAYETTEVILLE – Former Razorback greats Bobby Burnett, Glen Ray Hines and Cynthia Moore, along with five others, were recently named to the Union County Sports Hall of Fame class of 2012.

UCSHOF says, "Our mission is to preserve the rich athletic of Union County, Arkansas, by honoring players, coaches, officials and other individual who have made outstanding contributions in the field of athletics and who have brought recognition to Union County, Arkansas, on a local, state or national level."

Bobby Burnett was part of the 1964 national championship football team. The offensive threat was a two-time letterman for Arkansas, being named a captain in 1965. Burnett received honors his senior season, being named first-team All-Southwest Conference. He also received the Crip Hall Homecoming Award, the Performance Award of 1965 and also played in the 1966 Senior Bowl. Burnett played in the National Football league from 1966-69 for Buffalo and Denver. Burnett was named to the Arkansas Hall of Fame and the University of Arkansas Hall of Fame, both in 2000.

Glen Ray Hines, an offensive linesman, was another member of the 1964 national championship football team. Hines was a three-year letterman from 1963-65 for the Razorbacks. While at Arkansas, he was named first-team All-SWC while also receiving the Houston Post Award, which went to the Most Outstanding Player in the SWC. Hines was named to the University of Arkansas All-Century Team and the 1960s All-Decade Team. Hines played eight years in the NFL for Houston, New Orleans and Pittsburgh.

Cynthia Moore was a four-time All American for the Arkansas women’s track and field team in the triple jump. Moore was a four-year letterman from 1988-91. Two of her All-American honors came from the indoor triple jump while two were outdoors. Moore is still in the UA record books with the second-best indoor long jump in program history. She also ranks fourth in the triple jump.

The eight honorees were inducted at the annual banquet on Aug. 4 at the El Dorado Conference Center.

Sports Category :