comscore script

Walker selected as Ole Miss honorary captain

Walker selected as Ole Miss honorary captain

FAYETTEVILLE – The University of Arkansas is proud to announce former Razorback All-American Jimmy Walker as the A Club Razorback honorary captain for Saturday’s Ole Miss-Arkansas football game.

The 21st-ranked Razorbacks kickoff against the Rebels at 11:21 a.m. inside Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium in a game set to be broadcast on the SEC Network.

The University of Arkansas Athletic Department and the Razorback Foundation A Club is presenting an honorary captain for each home game this season. Each honorary captain will be honored prior to the game on the field, recognized on the RazorVision and accompany the Razorback captains to midfield for the coin toss. The honorary captain also appears at the Legends Tent in the AT&T Hog Trough approximately 90 minutes before game time.

Walker played defensive tackle for the Razorbacks from 1975-78. He ranks third on the Razorbacks’ all-time career tackles for loss list with 36. He led the Razorbacks in tackles for loss during his final two seasons, compiling 15 in 1977 and 19 in 1978. His 19 tackles for loss in 1978 was a UA single-season record and still ranks tied for fourth on the program’s single-season list.

During Walker’s time in Fayetteville, the Razorbacks posted a 35-10-2 record, tied for the Southwest Conference championship in 1975 and made three bowl games. In 1978, Walker earned first team All-America honors and was selected the most outstanding defensive player in the Fiesta Bowl. He also was a two-time All-SWC honoree.

Prior to the 1994 football season, Walker was selected to the 1970s All-Decade team.

Sports Category : Football