comscore script

Weems Named To AP All-SEC Team; Thomas and Townes Earn SEC All-Tournament Honors

Weems Named To AP All-SEC Team; Thomas and Townes Earn SEC All-Tournament Honors

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas guard/forward Sonny Weems has picked up another post-season honor, earning second-team All-Southeastern Conference honors on the Associated Press team released on Monday.

This is the fourth post-season award for the senior from West Memphis, Ark. He was earlier named first-team all-conference by the league’s coaches, All-District VII by the United States Basketball Writers Association and second-team All-District 9 by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

Weems helped the Razorbacks (22-11) knock off No. 18 Vanderbilt and No. 4 Tennessee over the weekend to advance to the SEC Tournament championship game for the second straight year. Weems had 17 points in Sunday’s loss to Georgia in the finals.

For the year, he is averaging 14.3 points, 4.6 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 1.3 steals. He is 23rd in the SEC in scoring and 12th in field goal percentage (.453). In SEC play only, he was eighth in scoring (17.3), 26th in rebounding (5.1), 15th in field goal percentage (.445), fourth in three-point percentage (.426) and sixth in three-point goals per game (2.50).

Two other seniors, forward Charles Thomas and center Darian Townes, were named to the SEC All-Tournament team.

In the three games, Townes was 19-of-29 shooting (.655), and averaged 17.0 points, 6.0 rebounds, 1.3 blocked shots, 1.0 assist and 1.0 steal. He had 18 points against Vanderbilt, 16 against Tennessee and 17 against Georgia.

Thomas was 17-of-30 shooting (.567) and 14-of-15 at the line (.933) with averages of 16.3 points, 6.7 rebounds and 1.3 steals. He had 13 points against Vanderbilt, 24 points and 10 rebounds against Tennessee, and 12 points against Georgia.

Arkansas is the No. 9 seed in the East Regional of the NCAA Tournament, and plays Indiana on Friday around 8:40 p.m. (central) in Raleigh, N.C.


u-Shan Foster, Vanderbilt, F, 6-6, Sr.

u-Jamont Gordon, Mississippi State, G-F, 6-4, Jr.

Richard Hendrix, Alabama, F, 6-8, Jr.

Chris Lofton, Tennessee, G, 6-2, Sr.

Tyler Smith, Tennessee, F, 6-7, So.

Devan Downey, South Carolina, G, 5-9, So.


Charles Rhodes, Mississippi State, F, 6-8, Sr.

Patrick Patterson, Kentucky, F, 6-9, Fr.

Ramel Bradley, Kentucky, G, 6-2, Sr.

Marcus Thornton, LSU, G, 6-4, Jr.

Nick Calathes, Florida, G-F, 6-6, Fr.

Sonny Weems, Arkansas, F, 6-6, Sr.

Dwayne Curtis, Mississippi, C, 6-8, Sr.


Joe Crawford, Kentucky, G, 6-5, Sr.; Sundiata Gaines, Georgia, G, 6-1, Sr.; A.J. Ogilvy, Vanderbilt, C, 6-10, Fr.; Anthony Randolph, LSU, F, 6-10, Fr.; JaJuan Smith, Tennessee, G, 6-2, Sr.; Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State, C, 6-9, So.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Shan Foster, Vanderbilt

COACH OF THE YEAR – Bruce Pearl, Tennessee

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR – Nick Calathes, Florida

Sports Category : Basketball (M)