comscore script

Wilson named Davey O’Brien Award semifinalist

Wilson named Davey O’Brien Award semifinalist

FAYETTEVILLE – University of Arkansas quarterback Tyler Wilson is one of 16 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien Award, it was announced Monday.

Wilson is 148-of-236 passing for 2,011 yards and 12 touchdowns this season. He is the only player in the NCAA to throw for 500 yards in a game in 2011, a feat he accomplished with a school-record 510 passing yards in UA’s 42-38 defeat of Texas A&M on Oct. 1. He became the fifth player in SEC history, and first since 2001, to top 500 yards passing in a single game while also breaking single-game school records with 481 yards of total offense and 57 total offensive plays against the Aggies.

The junior from Greenwood, Ark., 6-1 in his first season as a collegiate starter, leads the SEC and ranks 12th in the NCAA with 2,011 passing yards, a total which also ranks 10th on Arkansas’ single-season passing yards list. His 148 completions lead the SEC and rank 11th on UA’s single-season completions list, and his 12 touchdown passes are tied for the 12th-highest single-season output in school history.

Wilson’s average of 287.3 passing yards per game leads the SEC and ranks 13th in the NCAA. He also leads the conference and is 20th in the nation with an average of 287.9 yards of total offense per game. He also stands third in the conference with a completion percentage of 62.7 and fourth in the conference and 20th in the country with a passing efficiency rating of 148.53. Wilson is averaging 8.52 yards per attempt this season, which leads the SEC and ranks 15th in the NCAA, and 13.59 yards per completion, good for second in the SEC and 16th in the nation.

Wilson’s selection marks the second straight season Arkansas has placed a quarterback on the semifinal list for the nation’s best quarterback after Ryan Mallett earned the distinction in 2010. The Razorbacks are the only team in the country to have two different quarterbacks named a semifinalist in the last two years.

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at until fan voting closes at noon on Nov. 20. The three finalists for the Davey O’Brien Award will be announced Nov. 21, and the winner will be announced Dec. 8 in Orlando, Fla., during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. The 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.

This week, Arkansas travels to Vanderbilt in a game featured on the SEC Network. Kickoff from Vanderbilt Stadium in Nashville, Tenn., is set for 11:21 a.m.

Sports Category : Football